Back on the Track

ENG.

 

It is a wonderful feeling being able to do what one likes to do. That means for me in particular being outside and doing sports. And being active in an amazing environment is even better. So the last weeks were rich of those fantastic moments leaving plenty of salt on the skin. I am really pleased especially since a little cold had knocked me out around end of January.

 

So what was happening? The last rainy bike tour in NZ, before my quick trip to OZ had left a little reminder in form of a cough. Furthermore running was not the big thing in the last 6months, due to one of those dangerous Friday night football tournaments, back in Germany. And regarding surfing, I hadn’t yet find a surfable wave in AustralAsia. All was to come.

 

It started to change on the famous Great Ocean highway. Being out there with Sven (Ra..), we noticed that world famous Bell’s Beach was definitely not the option for the day. A big thing about surfing is for me going to new places, and the first really great feeling is once being outside in the Line-Up sitting on the board and simply enjoying the location. Continuing towards the north west there was suddenly this nice beachbreak in Lorne. So I had to rent a board for a 2h trial. The surf performance was not great, but at the end I could get a few small Aussie Waves - and yes, touched the local water.

 

From Melbourne I headed to Brisbane, where super-sporty Nic was also a great host in his Lousiana style villa. The tropical climate helped a bit to get away with the cold. We went out for a few runs, played and watched a lot of Tennis (with the AUS Open women final as highlight). Being active also requests a lot of good food, a cold beer and plenty of rest time – at least for me. And I had enough of that in Brisbane.

 

Back in NZ the weather was still sunny. At the end I would have had almost 4weeks without any rain. My main first focus was on riding with the bike over the Alps. The passes in NZ are not as high as one would expect (there is actually only one, slightly above 1000m). But wind, ever alternating up- and downhill sections and the already mentioned famous “pavement” made it hard enough to cross over Porter’s and Arthur’s Pass. Making roads here means really putting a load of tar on the road before dumping harsh stones above it. The result is a surface as rough as a gravel road – In German: so rau wie die Oberflaeche von einem Saechsischen Streuselkuchen, mindestens! Definitely no fun.

Well, somehow I made it over the Alps and took the train back. The train station in Jacksons consists of nothing then two tracks. The train was 2h late due to heat restrictions (not the aircon but speed restrictions due to rail track bedingind fear) and I was not reall sure if there was 'a' train to pick me up on this place. There was not even a shade beside a single tree. But eventually the train arrived and even stopped to pick me - just me - up. They knew I was coming with bike, gave me a seat and seconds later I was spoiled by the food and beverage service.

 

The days after I made it to the west coast of the south island. There I hiked a bit next to two famous glaciers. *Franz Josef and Fox). Although company was great with 3 sporty girls, I left the place after a few days already. The many sandflies wanted me too much. And my time for the southisland started to fly away. With a little cold still around I could not stand the adrenalin and party wibe in Queenstown either. I gave it a quick miss (as well as the famous Mildford Sound) and instead travelled to the very south, around Invercargill. Weather and Swell forecast were positive. 

It was the best decision I could do. Away from the beaten tracksI felt arriving to the real NZ. Probably the beers with the crazy southern locals and the Fish and Chips in the Colac Bay Tavern helped to that feeling as well. And on the next morning I was in the water, on the board, in the line-up, finally. Sun around, Stewart island and the alps on the horizon. Simply Amazing. The waves were beautiful and the surf was great in “tropical” 15 degrees cold water.

Actually the locals go out here in 7 degrees in winter. It feels quite often that we Europeans are quite softies compared to the kiwis. While we would say "I do not go there, it could hurt", they would say "I do not go there, it hurt the last time". So they do not fear cold temperatures, or crazy waves, no sunburn or crash nor hangover could stop them so they simply would go for "it" - whatever it is. 

 

But the best on surf was still to come when some black fins showed up just around us in the water. No, the Great White was playing another 10km south in the Foveaux Street. Here Hector dolphins could not wait to say hello to the Teuton stranger. For the first half hour it was not possible for me to checkout the incoming sets. The breathtaking spectacle with these nice animals was too impressive. Or a famous Spaniard would say: "two words, Im presionante". ;)

A few days later there were even more dolphins, when I surfed in Purpoise Bay in the Catlins regions. There, these guys were even jumping around and also surfed some waves. Furthermore it turned out that they were good indicators of where the next set would come in. It seems that each set brings some fresh fish for them – and this is what they are looking for, a good feed. It was just a massive party in the water – I can tell you.

 

 

Back on the North Island now, I want to prepare next weeks Triathlon in Wellington (Olympic distance). A highlight I voted for already from Germany. So I drove up to Napier 2d ago to participate in a first salt water swim. The 1km during the Ocean Swim went quite well in a rented swim wet suite, yesterday. By accident I heard about a sprint triathlon for Sunday, which was taking place just 5min next to my campground. Without excuse to chicken-out I signed in. Now, after the event, I am so happy that everything worked out well and it seems I can go for longer than 5k runs, eventually. Cross fingers for next Sunday.

The week-end in Napier was even much nicer. The city, rebuilt in the style of the 30th after a terrific earthquake, just featured the Art-Deco festival. So there was a unique atmosphere here – countless huts, old-timer cars, extravagant ladies, vintage airplanes looping over the beach, puffing steam machines fascinating men and some almost forgotten sounds in the sun blessed bars. I could not say No to a few cold shandies and spoiled myself with plenty of good food (pies and english breakfast mainly) as well.

 

 

I hope the next week will offer some further sunny moments for me, allowing the freedom to do what I feel like in this scenic country. In March I will be going north of Auckland where I want to stay 2-3 weeks in a remote place, getting some practice in timber work and hopefully a bit of east coast surf. J